**Economically disadvantage eligibility is only determined after social disadvantage has been determined. For purposes of program eligibility, economically disadvantaged individuals are “socially disadvantaged individuals whose ability to compete in the free enterprise system has been impaired due to diminished capital and credit opportunities.” An individual seeking an economically disadvantaged designation must provide the following to the SBA for consideration:

Certification Criteria

NGLCC Criteria

WBENC Criteria

does your business qualify as a Service disabled veteran (sdv) owned or Veteran owned business?

NMSDC criteria

does your business qualify as a minority owned business under sba 8(a)?

Businesses seeking minority business certification are instructed to contact the groups and organizations whose mission is to advance business opportunities to certified businesses. Organizations like NMSDC (National Minority Supplier Development Council), WBENC (Women's Business Enterprise National Council), and NGLCC (National Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce), are national organizations aimed at certifying your businesses. There also certifications through the federal government such as 8(A), Veteran-Owned, and Service-Disable Veteran Owned, as well as certifications through state and local municipalities.  Applications can generally be submitted online, and companies must meet the certain criteria for certification. We have included some of the criteria for the most national types of certification.

Must be a U.S. Citizen
Businesses that are at least 51 percent minority-owned and controlled, defined as someone who is at least 25 percent Asian, Black, Hispanic or Native American, established through screenings, interviews and site visits
Must be a for-profit enterprise that is physically located within the U.S. or its trust territories
Management and daily operations must be exercised by the minority owner member(s)

The certification process can take up to 90 days and applicants should be prepared to supply many different types of business documentation. Once certified as a minority-owned business by the NMSDC, minority business executives have access to program benefits, among which are opportunities to grow their businesses by gaining private and government contracts through inclusion in (and access to) the NMSDC’s supplier database and regional leads and alerts for procurement opportunities from corporate members.

Applicant company must be at least fifty-one percent (51%) owned and controlled by one or more women who are U.S. citizens or permanent legal residents, or in the case of any publicly-owned business, at least fifty-one percent (51%) of the equity of which is owned and controlled by one or more women who are U.S. citizens or permanent legal residents

Management and daily operation is controlled by one or more of the women.

WBENC uses a two part process to ensure that the applicant company meets the WBENC Standards.   This will include a thorough review of the documentation presented and a site visit interview with the female owner(s).

Majority (at least 51%) owned, operated, managed, and controlled by an LGBT person or persons who are either U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents
Exercises independence from any non-LGBT business enterprise
Has its principal place of business (headquarters) in the United States
Has been formed as a legal entity in the United States

In order for applicant businesses to be certified, all applicable documentation must be supplied in full accordance with NGLCC SDI Standards and Procedures or an applicant business may be denied approval for certification. Please consult the document, which describes the criteria for certification and the application process.

To be approved and certified as a minority-owned business (also referred to as a certified disadvantaged business) under the SBA’s (8)a Business Development program eligibility requirements, an organization must:

Be majority-owned (51 percent or more) by an individual(s) who is/are
American citizens (by birth or naturalization) who is/are
Both *socially and **economically disadvantaged

*Individuals are presumed to be socially disadvantaged if they hold themselves to be a member of a presumed group or are currently identified by others as a member of a presumed group, which include:

Black American
Hispanic American
Native American
Asian Pacific American
Subcontinent Asian American

Other individuals may be found socially disadvantaged and therefore eligible for the program on a case by case basis.

Narrative statement of economic disadvantage
Personal financial information including tax returns and specific SBA forms; including separate financial information pertaining to a spouse when the applying individual is married

Assuming that an individual applying for SBA 8(a) certification is a member of a presumed socially disadvantaged group and has met the requirements for economically disadvantaged designation, they must also:

Be a small business
Be a business that demonstrates potential for success
Have leaders that show good character
Meet separate eligibility requirements if they are businesses owned by American Indians, Native Alaskans, Native Hawaiians or Certified Development Companies

The purpose of the Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business Concern Procurement Program is to provide procuring agencies with the authority to set acquisitions aside for exclusive competition among service-disabled veteran-owned small business concerns, as well as the authority to make sole source awards to service-disabled veteran-owned small business concerns if certain conditions are met. 

In order to be eligible for the SDVOSBC, you and your business must meet the following criteria:

The Service Disabled Veteran (SDV) must have a service-connected disability that has been determined by the Department of Veterans Affairs or Department of Defense
The SDVOSBC must be small under the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code assigned to the procurement
The SDV must unconditionally own 51% of the SDVOSBC
The SDVO must control the management and daily operations of the SDVOSBC
The SDV must hold the highest officer position in the SDVOSBC

Veteran Owned business must meet the following standards

The VOSBC must be small under the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code assigned to the procurement
The VOSBC must unconditionally own 51% of the SDVOSBC
The VSOBC must control the management and daily operations of the VOSBC
The VSO must hold the highest officer position in the VOSBC